Recording Female Vocals for a Dance production

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Everyone,

I'm an amateur producer specializing in Dance/Euro music. After 2 yrs of using samples, I'm ready to go to the next level and produce my first Female-Vocal track.

Trouble is, I've never worked in a studio before, don't know a lot about equipment, never worked with a vocalist, and am clueless even on how to FIND a female vocalist.

What I've been able to research thus far (I live in the US):

1) "DanceBooking" http://www.dancebooking.com/?pid=srchartist&pcat=2 (NYC Manhattan) offers a list of female singers in various genres (click the upper-right selection box). Every girl has pics & a bio, is a pro (they even got Fragma & Iio there).

Worth a shot? Maybe, cos I haven't found much else, AND the normal local girls are all talk and are all flaky.

2) Studios - plan is to rent for a couple hrs:
2a) http://www.realrecording.com/
2b) http://www.thecuttingroom.com/main.html
2c) Right next to where I live: http://www.bandsindc.com/wfp/index2.htm

But the problem is I have no idea how to work in a studio, I just want to record 4 clean lines of fem. vocals and then go home :)

Now that the background/plan is laid out, I await your guidance and experience on how to begin ;)

Thanks

well, some things to make yer life easier that I can think of:
1 )it may be easier if the studio can accomodate projects in the host you use. I find it more of a pain to work with .wav files.
2 )let the engineer handle the hands on stuff with the studios equipment and signal path.
3 )I would use as little efx as possible to record the signal, and apply later after you have them fit into the track.
4 )try to be as specific as possible with yer singer, and get lots of alternate takes even if you dont think you need them...