Jazz theory question: #9, b13, b5...

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I am relatively new to jazz theory, but I am trying to do this arrangement. I have 2 questions:

Do you put #9's and flat 13's on minor chords that come before dominant chords?

and, do flat 5's go on dominant subs?

Thanks,

Hey there!

It's been my experience that jazz theory makes allowances for most anything you find acceptable. That said...

The #9 in a minor chord is the 3rd (ie, Dmin7 #9 would have an 'f' and an 'e#'; enharmonically the same).
Flat 13's occur naturally in the aeolian/natural minor scale - that's why they get used sometimes. Generically speaking, I've seen #9's and flat 13's more commonly tacked onto dominant chords.

I've shoved Flat 5's onto dominant chords, substitutions or not. Sometimes they're referred to as #11 depending on where it resolves to (up or down).

The bottom line is to be aware of what key/mode is being implied by your harmony and the direction you will resolve them. This can become vague if you are only adding extensions for colors-sake.

A great resource for theory, voicings, etc. is "The Jazz Piano Book" by Dick Hyman.

I'm by no means a master theorist and I anticipate you'll get a variety of views on your question. Please let me know if anything is unclear and please correct me if I'm wrong.

PAX,
Zach...

This space intentionally left blank

Wow! Thats a lot clearer! Thanks :)

So I'm in the key of D minor, the original progression was just 4 bars of D9,

I Changed it to:

D9 | F-7 Bb-7 | E-7 A7 | D9

But this would be appropriate?

D9 | F-7b5 Bb-7 | E-7b5 A7#9 b13 | D9

Writing out charts takes forever. :-o :bang:

zfisherdrums wrote:A great resource for theory, voicings, etc. is "The Jazz Piano Book" by Dick Hyman.
Any ideas where to get this book from? Sounds really useful.

Emma