live performing?

Official support for: bitwig.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all,

New to Bitwig and this forum. I have searched and tried to discover my own answers prior to asking here but thus far I've failed. So please excuse me if I've somehow overlooked some blindingly obvious or already answered question...

I'm using Bitwig with an Akai MPK mini Mk3. Still just finding out what everything does and how everything works, me being a complete beginner in terms of music making.

One of the things that drew me to buying a DAW and controller was watching the very many demos out there of people tapping in beats, using the controller to start/stop; switch; layer the various sounds, thereby creating tunes "on the fly".

I deliberately didn't buy Ableton because at end of day surely it's all about some software and hardware? Being prepared to do the work means I don't need to buy something set up in a certain way, I can learn how to do what I want in something as open-ended and flexible as Bitwig by understanding mappings or scripts or some other aspect which will allow me to e.g. start/stop a clip from a pad on my controller?

But I simply cannot find any kind of guide or "get started" video showing me how I could do the above, or how to use my controller to tap out a beat, use it to start/stop sounds (stems) etc. as I've seen demonstrated with multiple other programs.

Does such a guide exist? Or is it in the manual and I've simply failed to notice? Can anyone please point me in the right direction?

Bitwig is a little younger and obscure compared to other DAWS, That might be why you are not finding the answer in a concise video on YouTube. Everything you said is possible, Relatively easy and Bitwig is capable of even more.

I recommend reading the manual ( skip “the grid” section for now) and/or watch some beginner Bitwig videos.

What you need should be covered within the first 20 mins. Maybe look for videos around the “launcher”.