Should I stay with Logic? (buying new computer)

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

It's time for a new computer. I no longer see a compelling reason to stick with Apple, except for Logic Pro. The main feature I appreciate in Logic compared to other DAWs is the drummer functionality; it's truly killer. However, considering the hefty $3000 price tag for a good Mac, I'm inclined to explore other options. At this budget, I could invest in a powerful PC that would serve me for other things like games and graphic work (im also a designer).. What do you think? Buying a mac just for a spesific functionality within logic seems little over the top.. no?

For me, I've narrowed it down to macOS as a primary reason to stick with Apple. I just can't do Windows after all these years of amazing reliability, beautiful design, and best-in-class resource management for laptops.

Any $3000 Windows PC I can build, even though on paper it could have a "beefier" Intel or AMD CPU, or more storage, or what have you; when it comes to the actual functionality of it through the lens of Windows: the constant interrupting updates, the loudness of it all, the abysmal drivers and registry situation still, just the outdated and frankly fugly design of its UI - I wouldn't even want it gifted to me. And arguably the performance won't be there neither.

Macs can do great graphic work, but gaming is still just in its infancy (eg. Death Stranding just released a great version) - so yeah, not for gaming yet.

edit: and yes, Logic is amazing as well! :D
Last edited by cdbaksu on Wed Feb 21, 2024 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Check out my OSC (One Synth Challenge) entries and more Logic Pro sequences on SoundCloud and YouTube.

You don't need to spend 3 grand for a great mac. My M1 mini 1tb/16gb cost 1605€ with Applecare.
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that."