Machine Learning for VA filters?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

How good results does machine learning give compared to a regular non-linear VA filter implementation? I.e. how much CPU do you need to use to have similar results / accuracy? (ML vs. VA)
Misspellers of the world, unit!
https://soundcloud.com/aflecht

Well, it depends. Not to be pedantic, but VA is a pretty huge term, and it encompasses a lot of different techniques, same goes for ML, so it's pretty hard to say which one is better for accuracy.
I'm not really sure how to implement such a filter with just a NN model, making it fast, dynamic, and stable even when modulated at audio rate, but my guess is that it could be much slower without much of an improvement in sound quality compared to a standard topology-preserving SVF.
Still a bit behind on this subject so take my words with a pinch of salt, I'm still learning :)

I wonder if anyone is doing something like Chirs Airwindows is doing with his reverb matrix experiments, in an attempt to get close to some Bricasti reverbs..

Would it be possible to program a ML environment to perform generative experiments on filter topologies, adjusting the kinds of values and routings which are fine-tuned by developers to hone in on the sound they seek.. that could produce some interesting results.

Kraku wrote: Thu Jan 04, 2024 9:23 pm How good results does machine learning give compared to a regular non-linear VA filter implementation? I.e. how much CPU do you need to use to have similar results / accuracy? (ML vs. VA)
I'm not an expert on this. But to me it looks like an misunderstanding of what machine learning is.

To my understanding you use the same type of algorithms, with parameters/tables to tweak by machine learning. Machine learning will only trim parameters and parameter tables tables for your algorithm. And maybe compare different algorithm implementations for you if you set it up like that.