Your approach to transposing?

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello fellow LinnStrumentalists,

I'm just getting started with my LinnStrument. One thing I immediately liked was jamming and improvising to random music on an online radio station. This is supported very well by the LinnStrument, once you know the scale and set the grid accordingly. But when you do that, a few questions come up and I'm really not sure what the best short-term or long-term approach is.

How do you handle playing other scales? Do you 1) keep the light pattern on C-Major and treat it like a piano keyboard where the layout is always fixed and you use it as a guide which notes you are playing? Or 2) you you transpose the pitch, so that the Accent note adjusts to the scale root note (and maybe even change the scale mode itself?). Or 3) Do you adjust pitch and light transpose at the same time (then notes stay physically where they are, but the light grid moves to where the new scale is)? Or any approach I missed?

Here's my little experience so far: first, I only used pitch transpose, but that unfortunately also moves the note location, so to me it made more sense for me to go with 3) instead. I've written up what negative or positive transposition steps lead to with Major and Minor scales and put it below the grid. For now, this helps me knowing where to play. I can imagine that with more experience with the layout, I wouldn't need to transpose anymore and just play over the default note layout (Approach 1). I've noticed that a custom light pattern does not transpose anyway and maybe I'd want to use this in the future.

Regarding how to find the scale if you don't know it - that might be another thread. But this seems really easy on the LinnStrument once you know your note scale pattern.