Help with Chords - Guitar !!!!!!!

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have been playing the guitar for quite some time now with decent skills. However recently i was jamming with a friend and was taken aback by the beautilful chords that he was playing for simple songs...

I have been mostly self taught and never ventured beyond simple straight chords... So apart from majors and minors, the only other chords that have been part of my playing have been the dominant 7, which i normally add as a prelude to the root chord... Thats all...

So add9, sus4, aug , diminished,and others have never been part of my playing..... however i would like to improve on this. I have begun by learning the theory behind chords and also the notes that form various chords namely sevenths, sixths, aug, dim, maj7th etc.... Next i have started figuring out different positions for these chords on the fretboard... So far so good... so know i know how to hold a Cdim, or a Dsus4, in more than one position...

What i feel i need to master next is to register the sound and feel of every type of chord.. Like if i hear a song i can easily write straight chords for it, comprising mainly majors, minors and dom 7ths... that coz the sounds and feel of these chords is very well registered in my brain, obviously coz thats the only thing i play.... But i must also have the ablity to fill in some of these add9's and sus4's for added effect....

So the only way i can register the sound of these new chords is by playing them out in songs that have them, and over a period of time registering its sonic nature in my mind...so in future when i write chords for a song i dont just restrict myself to straight chords.... Also i'm sure this will improve my programmin.....

The chords i am currently adding to my vocab are maj7, min maj7, add9, sus4, aug and dim, which i feel should be good enuf for a start....