Is it just me or is automation in Bitwig kinda bad?

Official support for: bitwig.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been using Bitwig for several years, professionally for about 2.

I just can't get on with the automation. It's laggy, behaves snappy even w/quantize off, no 4 point click editing (like in Ableton)...I just don't connect with it at all. Cubase is a dream compared to Bitwig in this regard.

Just venting. I'm working on a project and I find myself procrastinating on the automation part because it's a chore. Okay back to work...

It's pretty bad TBH.

- Initial inputs of dots drawn in do not snap to the grid despite having snap turned on. You have to input the dot, then move it around to get it to snap. I've been using DAWS (Pro Tools/Logic) for 25 years now, professionally, and I have no clue why they decided for it to behave this way. Especially considering you can press SHIFT to modify the snap behavior of the grid away, or just turn snap off all together, and yet, with automation none of this matters because you have to dilly dally and move shit around in order for an automation point to start snapping in the first place.

This kinda stuff adds up in wasted time, it really does.

A few weeks ago I was doing some "busy work/editing" stuff in Pro Tools that took me 10-15 minutes. I thought to myself; "This would literally take me 2-3 hours to do the same thing in Bitwig because it lacks Strip Silence, Tab to Transient, and Group Editing." Not a hyperbole either, lacking those 3 things would most definitely tackle on hours to the same task.

I mean, for the things Bitwig lacks, it does a thousand other things other DAWS cannot do. But it's these little tidbits that it lacks that kind of drive me insane, because they are such simple and essential overlooked things that really add up into wasted time fumbling around. It frankly boggles my mind how some of this stuff wasn't ironed out a decade ago in Beta before it's debut.

Cheers
"music is the best"