Plugins clicking and popping in bitwig

Official support for: bitwig.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all, I am new to bitwig and loving it so far. However, I have come across one issue I am wondering about. I just got a new macbook pro with the m1 pro chip and 32gb of ram. I installed arturia pigments 3.5 (it runs m1 native). When I try to run it in bitwig there are popping and clicking sounds until I turn the buffer up to 256 (and even then there is an occasional pop or click). Running the same plugin in logic I can do a buffer of 32 no problem. Is there something I can do here to help improve the performance? I need low latency because I also use a lot of hardware synths and effects as well as itb effects and instruments. 256 is just too slow :-(.

The same here (M1 Pro). Especially when the Bitwig window is not in focus

Am demoing it and I'm also seeing relatively high DSP usage on Win 10 - e.g. over twice the load average (ms) on an Init saw patch compared to Hive

Might be poor optimization by Arturia?

mrfrenkie wrote: Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:11 am The same here (M1 Pro). Especially when the Bitwig window is not in focus

You got a bunch of cpu spikes there...

Running plugins using "Together" sandboxing, I got lots of cpu spikes and crackles with 4 instances of Hive, but if I pushed it up to say 12 instances of Hive there were no crackles and spikes.

Running plugins "Within Bitwig" the cpu crackles went away.

I can’t be sure but I think something is goofed in the latest versions of bitwig with regard to plugins. I’ve been getting subjectively more problems in high cpu usage and such. I also installed Windows 11 recently though.

Thanks for the responses everyone, I am glad I am not alone (my graph looks similar with those spikes). I also emailed bitwig and they said they said they were getting similar results and to run it 'within bitwig' for better performance. And that they are working on improving the performance of VSTs...