Genre classification

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

It's my first time posting on KVR, so hi to you all :)

In the late 90s I used to post tracks on mp3.com. In the 2000s I didn't make much music, but recently I've bought some soft-synths/romplers and started producing a bit again.

My problem at the moment is that I have no good idea what sub-genre of electronic music I am making. I guess I've been out of the game for too long to know what my current style is called.. :?

So any helping suggestions to nudge me in the right direction would be much appreciated! :)

Here is an example of the typical sound of the music I am making today:

https://soundcloud.com/tortastic/awakened-dream

Nice sound. I would call it electronica. By the way, nice use of Clara's Vocals. I use it myself. You've just got yourself a new follower on Soundcloud.

Yeah, it's beat-oriented, and euro-ish, so electronica.

Thanks to you both for your input! Then I guess I was not as lost as I thought.

@Garry: I'm glad you liked it. Yes, Clara's vocal is great. Considering it's free I have to say it is quite amazing!
I had a listen to some of your tracks too, and I especially liked "It's time" and "Infinity". So you got yourself a new follower too :)

I'd call this "atmospheric breaks" (there is such a genre, kinda like old school trance with slower bpm and broken beats, it's very popular among electronic music lovers in my country now but I'm not sure if it's well known in the rest of the world).

Beautiful melody and nice synths. You may want to slightly rework the drum pattern to make it less monotonous and more groovy/dynamic. Other that that it's a great track, liked and followed you on SC.
You may think you can fly ... but you better not try