MATLAB and digital filters

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello folks,

I am a student from Austria (Vienna) and currently working on a listening test for a college project. Therefore i need a few shelf filters with some "special features", so i need to program them myself (in MATLAB). But as i am a musician with absolutely no ideas about DSP, i could need a helping hand. I am sure, that it isn't that much work for somebody who is interested in DSP: I already have some files and i just need somebody who would correct them and who is explaining me some points here and then.

As it is a college work, it would be great, if you would be a professional, so i can't quote you here and then in the work :)

But i am thankful for any kind reply

Thank you and greetings from Austria,

Hannes

P.S.: You can send me an email using the forum. thx

Hi Hannes,

You could use the fdatool which is a filter design tool in the signal processing toolbox. You can design the (static) filter and export the filter coefficients as far as I remember. You could then use functions such as conv() (convolution) or filter() to apply the filter to a signal.
What are the special features you need for your filter?

Cheers

Carsten

sorry for the late reply, i didn't have the chance to check my e-mails. thank you for your hints, i am still trying to learn more about DSP, which isn't easy at all (i never liked math :) ). I am reading "the scientist and engineer's guide to digital signal processing" which is indeed very helpful for a newbie like me.