About Filters in VSTI's

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I was thinking of how people code their synths while I looking through the forum. And I wondered (and please forgive me if this is an idiotic question, I have no experience with coding) how does any other filter sound different from others when they are coded in like Microsoft C? Shouldn't they all practically be the same? Maybe this is just the synthedit talking where most use the same filter in synth edit.

Forgive me if i've just asked a foolish question.

They would use more or less the same if the developers would use the same piece of code and the same algorithm. But there are different (many) algorithms, and the way you code a specific algorithm has impact as well, and of course there are parameter settings that you can use...
e.g. the number of samples that you use (1 - 10 - 4096 - etc) to calculate a filter can be different, the impact of 'past' samples can be different (e.g. current + 1/3 * last one + 1/9 * the one before last, is different than taking 1/2 and 1/4th)... There are some sites with good examples of filter algorithms (a list is in the sticky at the top of this forum). However most examples are coded in C/C++ which is not an easy read if you're not a programmer :D.
I bought Curtis Roads - The Computer Music Tutorial, which has a very broad and high-level introduction into all these concepts...

OK, I forgive you! 8)

Let's answer your question with a real world example:

Originally, filters were "hardware". Think of the famous Moog-filters and other examples of this stuff.

All of them were characterized to have a very special & individual sound. I guess, this is what you have in mind, when you compare to the software-replica you mentioned.