DPMP - Envelope Decay settings ?

Official support for: bluecataudio.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi Blue Cat,

I notice when I collect peaks at 0ms decay and transformed envelope (zero'd) that the transform envelope is smoother than the peak envelope. I assume that's because I changed peak decay to 0ms.

What is the decay of the transform envelope? I notice if I slow the peak envelope down to 100ms that it fits tighter with the transform envelope but I think the transform envelope is a touch slower than that even.

Is there a reason why the transform envelope is slower or are you going to add a control for it too? I'm kind of new to envelopes so there may be a good reason for the transform envelope to be smoother. Thanks!

On second thought...

If you are only able to write a node once a frame, Sonar4 has 30fps(?), so every 33ms or so a peak envelope or transform envelope node can be written. I guess it doesn't make much sense to have a decay time less that the frame rate?

I'm trying to get a pretty tight envelope wraped around the peaks of my wave form and it seems that 50ms decay with -5% offset does the trick visually in Sonar4 with the Transform Envelope - for this experiment at least where I'm looking at compression artifacts in the time domain view.

Transformed and normal envelope are both impacted by the decay, so they should go down the same way...

The transformed envelope only allows you to offset it (+-50%) and change it by the amount factor (in fact we have kind of: transformed= (Amount/100)*envelope + (offset/100) (considering transformed and envelope between 0 and 1, you can do the mapping yourself to -60;0).

The decay time is the decay of the filter (time to reach 10% of the maximum peak, which means max peak -20 dB). So if your frameRate is very large and your decay tim to small (typically under 10 ms), you might end up with strange things... (but it might be interresting though).