New to Linnstrument, confused by chords & bassline

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello! I'm brand new to the Linnstrument. I was drawn to it after spending about 6 months trying to learn piano and finding myself struggling with all the different possible hand contortions I needed to learn to play chords.

One thing I'm trying to wrap my head around with the Linnstrument is how people play two handed, chords plus bassline. Looking at minor or major scales it looks like it's going to be easiest to play these chords with my left hand since the angle of the notes lines up so that it's a lot easier to play with my left than my right. I guess that would mean my right hand plays the bassline?

Is it reasonable to assume I shouldn't carry over any of the assumptions and conventions I picked up on the piano? Are there conventions or best practices I should be learning, or does everyone figure out what works best for them?

rustyrazorblade wrote: Sat May 18, 2024 2:02 am I guess that would mean my right hand plays the bassline?
By your process of elimination, yes.
rustyrazorblade wrote: Sat May 18, 2024 2:02 am Is it reasonable to assume I shouldn't carry over any of the assumptions and conventions I picked up on the piano?
Potentially, although I still generally play seventh and/or extended chords with my left hand and melodies with my right hand at the moment.
rustyrazorblade wrote: Sat May 18, 2024 2:02 am Are there conventions or best practices I should be learning, or does everyone figure out what works best for them?
The latter. However, I make it a high priority to clip my fingernails before interacting with the LinnStrument.