Is Micing a real Bass Cab worth it?

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

I have done some tests, and I prefer the sound of micing a real guitar cab to IRs and cab simulations. Now I am contemplating micing bass cabs as well. I don't own any bass cabs at this point, and I have no experience micing bass cabs.

I would among other things drive the cabs with a 100 watt tube head. There are three things I am concerned about:

1. Will I have issues, because my room is not acoustically treated to deal with very low frequencies at high amplitudes?

2. How much do I need to be concerned about the vibrations causing things to fall over? (Will I physically melt in front of a loud bass cab in a smallish room?)

3. How much (in your opinion) is a real miced contributing to a rock production compared to other option like IRs/simulations or direct signals?

Extra question. Can The amplitude of an bass cab possibly damage a microphone?

EDIT: I meant to post this in the guitar section. sry
Last edited by LunarKitten on Sat Mar 09, 2024 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
★★★ One can enjoy a wood fire worthily only when he warms his thoughts by it as well as his hands and feet. ★★★

I’ll come right out and say that I think that unless you have a really good treated room and mics, you’re going to get a better quality of sound using IRs, straight across the board, guitar and bass. Ownhammer and Yorke seem to be the best to my ears. I no longer even bother with guitar amps at all. A good Tonex capture or Amplitube emulation beats a tube amp head into a load box, IMO.

I’m talking about the end results, not the experience of playing, which of course is different.
Zerocrossing Media

4th Law of Robotics: When turning evil, display a red indicator light. ~[ ●_● ]~