Guitar recommendations for a beginner

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, I started playing piano 3 years ago but always loved the sound of electric guitars. I got some time now and tryna learn a second instrument.

What would you guys suggest me to get started, is a cheap guitar (~100$) enough at the beginning or should I go for a more pricey one.

I've been looking at this one recently :
https://www.thomannmusic.com/harley_ben ... series.htm

If you have some recommendations I would love to hear them.

Get the best guitar you can afford would be my advice. Not necessarily the most expensive, but something that's a pleasure to play. I tryed learning on cheap secondhand acoustics when I started out, but didn't progress until I bit the bullett and bought a decent quality, new Ibanez acoustic. Same thing with electrics ... some people love their Harley Bentons but chances are that a Fender/ Epiphone/ Ibanez/PRS etc. will play and sound better (imho).

What's your budget?

Anything under 300$ would be fine.

I will take your advice and look a bit more into it but the choice is so overwhelming and as a beginner it's not easy to grasp all the differences between the models.

I think I'll go with one of these, they seem to sound great (towards the Ibanez) :
- IBANEZ GRG121DX
- LTD MH10
- CORT KX100

what do you think ?

The Cort looks nice to me, but the other two are a bit "pointy" for my taste. I'm sure they'll be great guitars all the same. I sympathize with you on the overwhelming choice available these days. Guitars were still relatively expensive when I started out. These days they're pretty affordable by comparison. Is there anywhere nearby where you could get hands on with the models you like? The first Telecaster I tried convinced me I needed that guitar, so I part exchanged it for my Ibanez LP Junior. I still love the sound of the Tele, but recently picked up a PRS SE Standard which I'm playing a lot.