deciding on sampled instrument file formats and workflow

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, I'm just getting started with creating some sampled instruments. (I play accordion and there seem to be very few software accordion instruments, so I'd like to make one.)

I'm on a Mac. I've used Logic Pro a little and got something promising using Quick Sampler. Now I'd like to make an instrument with multiple samples. It seems like this will involve recording some audio where I play a lot of notes and then chopping it up into a lot of small files. I need to decide how to record it and chop it up.

Logic Pro's full Sampler is intended for multi-sample instruments, but I don't like the UI all that much and don't really get the workflow. It doesn't have recording built in like Quick Sampler, and I also ultimately don't want my software instrument to be tied to Logic Pro, because I'd like to share it for free as a SoundFont or SFZ file and have an opportunity to use it however I like. (Sforzando seems promising?) I don't see obvious options for converting Logic Pro EXS files into something else? It seems to be a proprietary dead end.

I also tried recording using Logic Pro's audio track type, and the editing is confusing enough that I'm not inclined to use it unless I can see how it's actually good for this sort of thing.

I have heard of Kontakt but not tried it. It seems pricey and also uses a proprietary file format. Is it another dead end?