Gang Violins - The Field (Electronic / Ambient / Bass / Chill)

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

We've just released a new track call The Field...

https://soundcloud.com/gangviolins/gang ... -the-field

:tu:

Notes for Nerds:

- I work in FL Studio and my bandmate works in Live.

- Our first track with vocals! Although they are intentionally understated, they are real vocals recorded for the track, not just samplepack stuff.

- I am not super happy with the mix or the master... there's some harshness - it's overly busy in places. I'm still a total amateur obviously but I am still very proud of the music itself and what we achieved. Let's just say it's intentionally "lofi" :hihi: But compared to proper commercial stuff, it lacks sparkle and clarity on the top end as well as being a bit muddy.

- There is essentially no EQ on the master save for a slight dip around 8-10k (at 12% mix..!) and a super low DC cut. I tried a lot of different stuff but became disillusioned after comparing to the original when matched to the same volume and preferring the original mix as it was, basically everytime - it spooked me!

- Dynamic range: Since Bandcamp and Soundcloud aren't auto-compensating volume, we have uploaded the "loud version" to those platforms - but the main streaming version submitted to iTunes / Spotify etc which is coming soon, will be the "dynamic version". I used loudnesspenalty.com as a guide.

- The master has.... DMG TrackControl for some subtle macro volume automation throughout, Pro-Q 3, Kotelnikov, VLA-3A and Pro-L 2 (Modern mode). Probably didn't need VLA-3A.

- References... Massive Attack - Angel / Ritual Spirit / Prayer for England, Azaleh - Moonlight, XXYYXX - DMT

Loud version (for Bandcamp / Soundcloud / CD-R):
field-loud.JPG
Dynamic version (for iTunes / Spotify etc):
field-dynamic.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.