playback does not jump to "release loop"

Official support for: tx16wx.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys, sorry if this is a noob question :roll: I am new to TX16WX (fantastic VSTi, BTW!), have read the forum / manual back & forth but this is still driving me crazy...

I have a sound sampled from a wind instrument containing of 3 sections (see picture below): A short blowing noise in the beginning, the actual sound of the instrument that should loop as long a the key is pressed, and some clicking from the valve once the key is released. However, I have tried using different AEG and window settings, multiple loops / slices of different type, etc. but when I release the key on the keyboard the sound either stops inside the loop or the click is only played much later when the loop has ended.

Has anybody of you experts got some hint for me? How can I adjust the sustain and release loops in the wave editor so that whenever I hit a key
  • the initial wind noise is played
  • the loop continues as long as the key is pressed
  • the clicking sound is played immediately when the key is released
Thanks in advance!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"A world without music would be worse than music without a world."

The release loop is just the loop that will be "active" once the key is released. Sound will not jump to it, mainly because that would in almost every use case generate clicks/discontinuities. Actually, I think the most "common" (at least back in my day - oh I am so old) of the "release loop" is to set it to <none>. Typically you would have a sound sampled, loop the middle for sustain, but have loop set to none, so that on key release you could play the sampled, natural, release instead of just fading the loop.
This obviously requires a short loop, but back then "this was all we had - we were so poor - cackle"... :-)