OSC in Expert Sleepers plug-ins - useful?

Official support for: expertsleepers.co.uk
Post Reply New Topic

Would you find OSC support useful in Expert Sleepers plug-ins?

Yes
75%
No
25%
Maybe (please leave a comment to explain)
No votes

Total votes: 4

RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,

I just wanted to start a quick poll to see if anyone's interested in seeing OSC support in future versions of Expert Sleepers plug-ins.

If you don't know what OSC is I'm guessing you're a "no" but here's a link anyway: http://opensoundcontrol.org/introduction-osc

cheers,
os.

I'm using OSC for a lot of things these days, I would LOVE to see this implemented. It would allow me to more easily control AL directly through MaxMSP, and integrate my own GUI. I've done this with SooperLooper and it works much better than the MIDI implementation.

Thanks for the feedback.

Could you describe how you'd expect an OSC interface to AL to look? I have no experience with OSC so I'd appreciate your input.

ummmm....well, I wouldn't really expect it to look like anything. My needs would be simply so I could define my own GUI embedded in another piece of software (e.g. MaxMSP) or control AL from another OSC compatible app (currently I'm playing with OSCemote on my iPod Touch....it works nicely for a lot of things).

Most important features for me would be:

user configurable port (useful also if using more than one instance of AL)
most main features of AL mapped to standard OSC commands (e.g. /pitch/inertia/n = pitch inertia setting, etc.)

AL needs to be capable of sending feedback as well as recieving commands via OSC...Playback position would be nice too, but I can't imagine how you would implement that.

Had a bit more here, I'll post it seperately.
Last edited by amounra on Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

I think I understand your question a little better now, after thinking about it for a moment.