How to write the blues?

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been very keen to get a bluesy sound for a very long time and I wondered if anyone could help me? Are there any particularly bluesy progressions that I can hear and dissect?

R.U. serious?? What style of blues exactly?

I recommend you do your own homework. Then you actually learn something. Pick a song, play along, name the chords, play the licks & riffs. Learn to speak the musical language by doing it.

Blues is easy. Mannic Boy has just one chord for example.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

See, if you'd only said that last sentence, followed by elaboration, you would have just contributed, close but no cookie. :lol:

I'm an electronic composer so i haven't got time to learn to play an instrument well. I just want a rough outline on what makes the blues, the blues. I can only assume from my current level that its lots of parallel chords giving blue notes to the melody, but what are good chord progressions to go along with the blues, thats my real question. Pentatonic with blues notes for melody, not a whole lot of information on blues harmony available, apart from 12 bar blues.

Is the blues as simple as switching chords from major to minor at will, does blues cadence perfectly etc. etc.

The point is there's no one answer.

With this attitude you won't ever get what it is.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

moby already did electronic blues.

Stamped Records wrote: Sat Mar 30, 2019 12:03 pm See, if you'd only said that last sentence, followed by elaboration, you would have just contributed, close but no cookie. :lol: