Music Theory vs Chord VST

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Locked New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Im just getting into learning music theory but I have a delema. I have come across a ton of VSTs that produce chords for you and I have a question. When applications like these become more popular what will this mean for those that want to learn/use music theory the old fashion way? Should I spend double or even tripple the time sitting learning music theory or should i resort to these chord generators and learn music theory by generating the chords that sound nice to me? I kind of feel like thats cheating :scared:

you're right in that you have all the tools available to compose music of a certain complexity with minimal effort and learning, and that it can yield good results just going by ear. if you're not naturally curious about the mathematics behind it, no need to force it and bore yourself.
what you call the old fashioned way however is still as relevant as ever, everything is built upon it, and the more theory you know, the better you can use even the most beginner-friendly music software.

Hmmm I understand. So I guess I can get maybe the best of both worlds. Create music with genortaors but also spend some time learning theory in order to better understand what I'm making so I can make better decisions. Thanx for the reply!

I use Ez keys a lot and find it fantastic to get "automatic" composition done quickly. Then I can go in and tweak as desired. I also use it to enter my own chord progressions and use the midi patterns to create performances.

So yeah, best of both worlds if you know your theory.
My Soundcloud Too many pieces of music finish far too long after the end. - Stravinsky

If you don't want spend time looking for right chords or want add your composition mood as you wish, learn theory.

If you want the real joy of musical thought that's your own and not needing someone's who 'knows better', the choice is clear.