Shared chords between keys

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I started doing a table to help myself plan changes of key, etc, since I'm not that good with any very advanced work with key changes, harmony progressions with them, etc.

So for example for C minor the number of shared chords with other major/minor keys are:
In scales of:

Dm- 2: Gm, A#
D# - 7, all of them
F- 2: Gm, A#
Fm- 4: Fm, G#, Cm, D#
G#- 4: G#, Cm, D#, Fm
A#- 3: A#, Cm, Gm

And that's all of them.
So number of times degrees are shared goes:
I - 3
II- 0
III - 2
IV - 2
V - 3
VI - 2
VII - 3

Did I got this correct? So there are no keys where Cm shares only one chord? Or did I miss one? And none of the degrees is shared only once with another basic minor or major scale?

If you're going to work with keys and definitions you first need to lose this basic mistake in spelling.
D minor as a key is signed with a Bb (same key signature as F major). A# is a different function in tonal music, and it's a reach in terms of key, for starters. It only first appears in a key signature at B major, #5 of 5 sharps. Six places distant in the circle of fifths.

A# major as a triad is A# Cx E#.

So you'll actually save yourself this whole task with a basic look at the circle of fifths and key signature. The answers are obvious, there is no need for all this.

IE: C minor and D minor are flat keys; one has three flats, the other one flat. Keys F and D minor have the same key sig.
Chords are built in thirds. This will all be available in some basic charts.
(There are chords belonging to D minor which to exist in a passage in F major will be borrowed from it but that exceeds the lesson for today.)

Google is your friend here. You seem to be trying to sort this from the piano roll purely (where there are only sharps in the graphics) and your own suppositions. Not the best use of your time, tbh.
Last edited by jancivil on Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.