Extending instrument note ranges in Sampletank?

Official support for: sonicreality.com and esoundz.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Is there any way to extend the instrument note ranges in Sampletank? I'm kind of new to it as of the current group buy but I've read the manual and I can't find a way to do this.

I find some of the instruments in the World Collection have very restricted ranges. While this may be appropriate for "realistic use" of these instruments, I'd like to be able to "reach" an extra semitone or two beyond the currently assigned keyrange. If this can't be done from the GUI, can this be done by editing the source files? Thanks.

Not extending as such, but you can change the note (pitch) range in using different algorithms:
-- click the [Synth] button,
-- then on the left-hand side, there are selectors for 3 different algorithms,
-- and different controls are displayed for each one,

-- for example, drop the pitch by -12 semitones
-- audition it,
-- save the changes as a "User preset", over on the right-hand side you'll see 3 User preset buttons, click [Save] and enter a name (for example, derived to the Instrument name is most convenient, followed by -12st),
-- the preset will then appear in the Browser for future use.

So if you load the Instrument itself you get the original range. if you load the preset you get the Pitch dropped by an octave. Both are played with the same MIDI notes in your DAW (but you can change that with the [Range] transpose control).

Have a look at sections 7.1 to 7.3 in the ST2 User Manual.

HTH
DarkStar, ... Interesting, if true
Inspired by ...

Thanks. But it's an awkward workaround and it doesn't really work with many sounds because all that's required is an extension of the alloted range without any dramatic variation of the timbre. The processes you point to modify timbre.