How to learn the I-Map system?

Official support for: sonicreality.com and esoundz.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've done a search here and found various references to this but I'm still not sure what's available. I'm a non-drummer who purchased both Ultimate Studio Drums group buys earlier this year. I have an e-drum kit which I'm slowly learning to play but I'd love to learn the I-Map system as it seems like it might be a faster route to laying down acceptable grooves. I am a guitarist but i do have some very basic keyboard skills. I am aware of the videos on the oceanwaydrums.net website which are excellent but only demonstrate what can be done rather than how to do it. Various people have requested some sort of tutorial videos on the I-Map and I am wondering have these have ever been produced? if so, or if there are any other resources to help with learning I-Map, I'd be very grateful if someone could point me to them.

Thanks, Mark

Just to clarify: what I'm looking for is some sort of tutorial resource on using the I-Map, or if that's not available, on finger drumming in general. Something that would have exercises and guidelines for developing and improving technique. I have googled this of course but haven't found much of interest except some YouTube stuff, none of it very coherent or structured. I'd be grateful for any ideas or leads that might be relevant. Somebody should write a tutorial book or something on this really useful skill. Squids? In your spare time maybe? :wink:

I would really like to do this. You CAN find a good demonstration of how it is laid out though on www.oceanwaydrums.net in the video section. I go over each kit piece. But as far as technique goes... apart from our own youtube site which has at least a lot of finger drumming www.youtube.com/sonicreality there is no actual tutorial with tips and tricks. But there should be! So in the next couple of months I think I will do some.