Help me decide which is the best electric guitar library for mostly heavy rhythm stuff while also suitable for leads.

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So I've gathered all my VI electric guitar decisions and am asking for help deciding which one is the best for me. I apologize in advance if I sound like I have no idea what I'm talking about when it comes to virtual guitars, I am a newbie to the subgenre. Please forgive me. Obviously a sampled guitar can't replace a real guitar but the thing is, I can't play real guitar, let alone afford one.

Lack of an amp sim is not a con as Tonelib GTX takes care of that.

Shreddage 1:
PROS:
- Really good for heavy rhythm stuff
- You get a free amp sim with it
- Only $60
- Works with SFZ
- Drop Ab tuning
- 8x round robins to reduce the "machine gun" effect
CONS:
- Amp sim is a little outdated, not sure if I can still get the discount to upgrade
- SFZ and Kontakt version have different functionalities, the latter requiring a $400 sampler
- Only goes up to B4 (Not B6 as listed on their site, FL studio lettering is a bit misleading, I have Cubase)

Shreddage 3 Serpent:
PROS:
- Good price
- Built in FX
- Works with Kontakt Player
- Drop A tuning
- 7-string guitar
- Well-rounded tone
- Prerecorded power chords
CONS:
- FX sound kinda fake, but can be bypassed
- Thin for leads

Ample Metal Eclipse
PROS:
- Cheaper than Shreddage
- Standalone and VST, requires no sampler
- Built-in pedals
- Riffer which allows you to create patterns
CONS:
- No prerecorded power chords
- Tuning is drop C and I'm debating if that'll be good enough
- Can sound a little machine-gunny

The Odin II
PROS:
- Lotsa round robins
- Sounds great
- Drop Q tuning (Reference to Rob Scallon, can be tuned really low)
- Neat interface
CONS:
- Kinda pricey

RealEight
PROS:
- 8 string
- Nicely priced
- Has a great sound
CONS:
- Machine-gunny

METAL-GTX
PROS:
- FREE!!!
- Works with SFZ