Starting point for thesis about VST

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello!

Im a musician and still new to the whole virtual music world. In my last year of school, I'm planning on writing a backing track with virtual instruments together with marimba. Since I'm new to all of this, it's gonna be real difficult to get everything in order. Now I want to use this as a subject of my master thesis, but finding a good research is quite difficult with almost no experience.
So does anyone know of a good starting point for this exploratory research?

Thanks!

Link to a piece in the same context: https://youtu.be/qyznXLRWzhg

Could your thesis cover the history of virtual instruments? Probably shouldn't limit it to VST though, as there are other formats too. You could go back to the early 90s when Steinberg and Apple produced the first instruments and look at the development since then. Maybe even go back to the roots of MIDI and look at how that influenced the development of virtual instruments.

It definitely will cover history. As I said I'm new to this stuff so any directions to some good sources are welcome. I really like the idea of going back midi so I will take a look at that.
Which would you say are the most important outside of VST?

TyIox wrote: Mon Aug 05, 2019 3:57 pm Which would you say are the most important outside of VST?
AudioUnits (AU) on macOs is probably the second most used plugin format. But I wouldn't consider the plugin formats themselves that interesting or relevant. The sounds and the user interfaces are not really based on those. Apart from some minor differences, you can develop pretty much the same plugin for VST2, VST3, AU, AAX (for ProTools) etc...Or you could potentially use the same code to do a stand alone application or even a hardware based product.