Mixing volume sliders

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Newbie here.... maybe a silly question, when I open the mixing console, and try to mix the volume of the tracks, nothing happens, no matter if I drop a track volume all the way down, if it’s clipping, it still clips!! So.... how can you mix a song? And if there’s a way, can we automate the sliders? To move up or down? Let’s Say when a solo is coming?

fernee wrote: Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:43 am Newbie here.... maybe a silly question, when I open the mixing console, and try to mix the volume of the tracks, nothing happens, no matter if I drop a track volume all the way down, if it’s clipping, it still clips!! So.... how can you mix a song?
Which DAW are you using (FL Studio, Logic, Cubase, Ableton...etc)???
I can only imagine, that you are moving the wrong fader...
The sound must be routed somewhere (to a track and then to the master) and these are the faders you have to move...
And if there’s a way, can we automate the sliders? To move up or down? Let’s Say when a solo is coming?
Every DAW lets you automate the faders...
But again, how to do depends on what DAW you are trying to work in...

Samplitude does this, where the volume fader controls midi volume by default, you have to manually change it to control the actual audio output from the track.
Could be user error as well.

It’s Waveform 8

fernee wrote: Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:43 am... I drop a track volume all the way down, if it’s clipping, it still clips!! ...
Perhaps best to find out first why it's clipping. What signal(s) is/are clipping?

Let’s see, I have an imported midi song in Waveform 8, with about 10 tracks, drums, piano, strings, and so on...I assigned instruments to every track, most of those are the Collective plugin, but I downloaded some others, and it sounds nice, but I can see about 4 or 5 tracks clipping....