How's Reason 10.3 beta going?

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Without violating your NDA, how is it? Good? Bad? Ok? :hyper:

Danilo Villanova wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:26 am Without violating your NDA, how is it? Good? Bad? Ok? :hyper:
I don't see any difference in performance. I've not received invitation yet :P
Music tech enthusiast
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

I was thinking that last night. I didn't participate as I knew I wouldn't really be able to to dedicate time to it, but as it's supposed to be released in April, I'm sure there can't be too much time remaining for the beta to be closed out.
Sweet child in time...

For me, it's brilliant. I use a pretty healthy mix of RE's and VSTs (like Kontakt/Kontrol, Superior 3, Helix Native, bunch of other random stuff). I usually work at 64 samples, as I'm a guitarist. But the issue previously was that was as my projects got busier, raising the buffer size basically made no difference to performance and didn't buy me any more headroom. Now at 512 samples I'd say I'm seeing as much as a 2/3 drop in CPU usage at the most. But at least 50% on average. Which is just great. And at buffer sizes beyond that, it scales more or less as you'd expect so if real time performance isn't vital (like you're at the mixing or prod phase) then there's tonnes of headroom. This is on a fairly old machine btw; HP Envy i74700MQ 12GB. I don't know exactly what's going on under the hood but it *feels* like performance is better at 64 samples as well, although I suspect for most just bumping up to 96 or 128 will make enough of a difference to continue working and adding instruments.

So yeah if you couldn't tell...I'm happy with it!
Insert something profound/blatant self promotion/DAW specs here.

Ableton Live 10.06 43 Spire instances factory3 PL Anjuna Pluck (one bar one C note)
Reason 10.3b9 44 instances without crackling