What's a good DAW to switch to from Cakewalk?

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I currently have Cakewalk and ableton live lite 10. I'm a little interested in switching DAWs to something that has more of a userbase and is updated regularly such as Cubase 10 pro.

I'm into metal, electronic, hiphop beats, and piano all through software except guitar. I'm not a serious musician. I'm just doing this for fun right now.

I've used cakewalk for a long time and I wonder if I should just stick with cakewalk for my musical needs. But I feel like the userbase and interest with cakewalk has gone downhill. Seems like pro audio manufacturers don't support cakewalk anymore when they tall about daw support. For example, arturia's keylab mk2. So this kinda makes me want to get a new daw.

What do you guys think?

It all depends on your preferences!

Demo, demo, demo
A well-behaved signature.

Huge userbase and frequent updates......feels reaper to me but i will warn you .sometimes the update may cause your system to crash for a few days .but again there will be an update for that and even the dev is ultra active.
Win 10 x64 with specs enough to run DAW without bouncing any track
KZ IEM,32-bit 384Khz dac running at 32bit 48Khz
mainly use REAPER, MTotalbundle, Unfiltered Audio TRIAD and LION, NI classic collection,......... ETC

Logic Pro or Reaper. Both good alternatives.

should check your prios
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com/DAW-Chart.html

Reaper has a bit garage-tuning feeling (needs some time till your customize) , I would check Cubase and S1, and Logic if u have Mac

S1 has a rent-to-own option https://splice.com/daws/38650984-studio ... y-presonus don't know the others
"Where we're workarounding, we don't NEED features." - powermat

I've heard that Studio One is similar to Sonar, I can personally recommend Logic if you have a Mac.
Signatures are so early 2000s.