Please help me achieve 'this' technique

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello guys, because I always have trouble with the sound of my beats, I started practicing by doing 'copies' of others' instrumentals, getting the sounds as close as possible.

My problem with my own beats are that I try my best to choose the right drums/percussions samples to give a good depth/balance, then use panning for stereo but when I start adding VST synths, things get very clustered and unclear.

When I hear this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pH-vxDgi9ag

What I perceive is that in the beginning, the guitar melody sits at the very middle, and the sidechained pads are happening at the ends of L/R side.. How is this achieved? In my copy, when I went through the pads from omnisphere, I have all these pads that are quite centered in terms of stereo image, and even if I widen them with imager, I still have too much frequencies in the middle, and clashes with the guitar..

Haven't listened to Garrix, but there are plenty ways. Just some I can think of:

- Play it twice with a slightly different patch, pan both hard left & right.
- Put a different (mono) effect on left & right channel, like phaser & flanger.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

There's a thing called 'stereo width'. It can go from zero to 100 - zero being mono, and 100 being full stereo field. It can even go over 100, where the sound you're feeding starts to layer onto itself. If your DAW's mixer has a per-track stereo width control, try to use that, plus panning left and right. If not, use a plugin. Only after that you can do sidechaining, to further create beds for the things you want to stand out, I presume that's the beats, not the pads.