What if your songs includes only a vocal and a piano?

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm only starting to learn about mixing techniques, and would appreciate your advice on this question.

What if your songs includes only a vocal and a piano? So it seems originally you only have two tracks in your DAW: vocal and piano.

Would you add more tracks, and in what way, to make the song sound fuller?

This situation reminds me of such songs as Bruno Mars's When I Was Your Man.

My sincere thanks for your explanation.

You probably wouldn't want to make the song sound "fuller" if piano and vocal is all it needs. But if you're considering adding more tracks/instruments, it sounds like you're really asking about arranging, instead of mixing. Arranging deals with the instruments and the parts they play, so if you want to add strings or a synth pad or something, that's arranging. Mixing would address the relative levels of the piano and vocals, and any effects you add (such as reverb).

I've done a few piano only tracks, and a few where I thought the piece might work better with some strings, synth pads or guitar to accompany the piano. Really though, it depends upon the song, the vocal line, and what the singer (and pianist) are doing. If the piece works well with just piano and vocal, there's no need to add more instruments--especially if the pianist and vocalist are doing more than just simple parts. You don't want the piece to sound too "full" by having a busy piano part and vocal line...and then slapping more instruments on top of that.

Steve
Here's some of my stuff: https://soundcloud.com/shadowsoflife. If you hear something you like, I'm looking for collaborators.

Thank you so much for your reply.

I do not mean to add more instruments.

Perhaps I should rephrase the question: It seems originally in my DAW, I only have two tracks: vocal and piano.