Using preamp plugins

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I’m looking for advice on best practice using preamp plugins. I’m new to these, so interested to hear other people’s experience.

Do you put the preamp at the beginning of the FX chain on each channel?

Before or after for example, an amp plugin on a guitar / electric piano part?

If you use the preamp eq, how do you use it? I would use an eq later in the chain for mixing. Maybe the preamp eq can achieve a given sound, and then a further eq down the chain can be used to mix the sound with other sounds?

And given that most preamps are emulations of hardware desks, would you use the same preamp on all of your channels to give a unified sound? Or do you mix and match, or simply use preamps on channels you feel need them?

Thanks for your input on this...

I use pre amps like I use any other form of saturation, when I want something dirtier i put a pre amp on it.

whatever sounds better. i don't much care about the "correct" order.
I don't know what to write here that won't be censored, as I can only speak in profanity.

Is there a particular plugin you are wanting to use? I've heard of folks using something like bx_console on every channel to hopefully get some of that "console magic" in their in-the-box mixes. It's actually got 72 different channels that they modeled so each instance of the plugin can sound slightly different if you want.

https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/prod ... 000_e.html