How to get a more live like workflow

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

I've been making music for a few years now and I've come to realize that my process for making beats is kind of slow and boring. Instead of doing tons of mouse clicking for automation, switching up drum loops, filter sweeps, exc, I want to give my process more of a live feel. This makes the process more exciting and I get to get a lot of my ideas out all at once. I use FL Studio and I tend to be stuck with a bunch of four bar loops with no movement/life at times because constantly going back and forth with clicking in automation and switching up the drums kind of slowly reduces my creative juices if that makes sense. I want to be able to play in new drums without constantly having to create a new pattern and recording all over again. I want to be able to automate 4 different things at separate times on just one recording without touching my mouse.

Is there a piece of hardware or software or process I'm missing that is compatible with FL Studio that will help me reach the workflow I desire?

some sort of midi controller.
one with knobs and faders will give you more access to parameters.
drum pads will let you finger drum.

yeah try the akai Fire, it's probably what you're after.

Maybe get a Novation Launchpad? It comes with a free version of Ableton Live Lite, so you could work with Live and mix down in FL Studio if you prefer to do that. The Launchpad can be used to trigger MIDI or audio loops, and you can use the pads to create loops live and then record a live arrangement.

Maybe also get a keyboard, as it doesn't sound like you have one. Something like an Arturia KeyStep, which also has a built in sequencer that you can tweak live.
Sweet child in time...

+1 for midi keyboard with knobs, faders and pads. Akai, novation or native instruments for example.