When is a sample so edited or altered that it is not copyrighted?

Sampler and Sampling discussion (techniques, tips and tricks, etc.)
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Sorry if this info is readily available or well known: I'm new to sampling.

I bought a Korg Volca Sample. Nice little hobby machine for on your lap and to mess w/ samples. Love it as an introduction into the world of sampling. I'm thinking about uploading to Youtube a tutorial or some stuff that I've created. Problem is that I've used the famous drum break from "Funky Drummer" by James Brown for some of them. I know that it's absolutely impossible and, since the 'De La Soul' debacle in the 80's, illegal to do that.

However, if you chop/slice a copyrighted drum break into samples of the individual "instruments" (i.e. snare drum, bass drum etc.) and make your own drum rhythm is that illegal too?

Also I've got some little snippets from classic drum breaks completely mangled up w/ flanger etc. Almost unrecognizable. Will that bring me into trouble? Is there a way to alter and edit a sample in such a way that it's not illegal anymore? I've seen a documentary (see below) about the Amen break ("Amen Brother" by The Winstons). A lot of people in drum 'n' base/jungle use the sample not directly but copied from another record. They don't even know where it is from, let alone how to pay the royalties. However, during the years the sample got altered so much that it is almost unrecognizable and therefore I cannot imagine anybody in the documentary to get into trouble for using it. Or am I wrong?.

So is there a way to use classic breaks without getting into trouble?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SaFTm2bcac
Last edited by MeneerJansen on Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

When is a sample so edited or altered that it is not copyrighted?
Straight answer: it never is! The original recording, even when edited or chopped to 1ms length, remains copyrighted.