Insecurity

Anything about MUSIC but doesn't fit into the forums above.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I used to be confident. My music was never that great, but I loved making it, and I made at least a few songs a month for years. It made me feel like I had a place in the universe, like I wasn't a waste of space.

I started learning a bit more about music theory. Nothing crazy, just the basics of diatonic harmony, chord functions, scales, modes, etc. I learned just enough to know that I don't actually know much of anything. Superficial knowledge, blah blah, different topic perhaps.

This made me question the worth of all the music I had made. I started to think it was garbage, the work of some clumsy buffoon who occasionally accidentally stumbled across some cool sounds. It was never really intentful or composed, just like... smoke some weed and make cool sounds and have fun.

But I started to be more and more critical of myself. I did things like FAWM for several years in a row, and I noticed that each year, I made fewer and fewer songs. My first FAWM I did like 30 songs. The next year was 14, the year after that was 10, after that 6, after that 5, after that was 2, and then the past few years I signed up but didn't even manage to make a single song. I was too critical of myself.

I started to feel like anything I made wasn't worth sharing, whether with strangers on the internet or with my friends. I put all this pressure on myself, like "You know way more about music now, you're not allowed to suck anymore." So I would make things that were okay, but I felt too ashamed to share them online. I used to post music here all the time, do the monthly competition, etc. It was fun. But I started to feel too insecure about it.