Why are responses on KVR and GearSlutz are so different?

Anything about MUSIC but doesn't fit into the forums above.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I was reading mostly disappointed responses on Spectrasonics Keyscape announcement, and somebody mentioned that frequent visitors of GearSlutz forum are better target for the product than KVR members. I checked GearSlutz, and yes, people there are full of enthusiasm about Keyscape. But what's so different between these two places? I am not a professional musician, neither a frequence visitor to any of them, but I had impression that both sites are about similar things. Are they not?

All the nihilists live at KVR, the girls visit GS.

/* pinknoise */
Last edited by noiseresearch on Mon Nov 30, 2020 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
/* whitenoise */ /* abandon */ /* reincarnated */

resistent wrote:I'm active on both forums for years and KVR and GearSlutz are really different. I think because a lot of GearSlutz members uses more often mechanical acoustic instruments and and not as much in EDM and stuff like here on KVR. Plus I think the average age is higher and the most users are coming from hardware ages. Just my 2c
I still laugh when I recall Ott calling them w*nkers who constantly argue about the sound of preamps.
"I was wondering if you'd like to try Magic Mushrooms"
"Oooh I dont know. Sounds a bit scary"
"It's not scary. You just lose a sense of who you are and all that sh!t"

To me, GearSlutz and V.I.Control (witch are also pretty different from one to the other), are more toward "working musicians" sort of.
I mean, get the job done, most hassle free as possible.
Sort of luxury kind of work space, so to speak.
Luxury for me is definitely more about having the time to : let's get lost and fiddle a max with all those weird plugs.
But that just me.
Prefer KVR.