Apple Developer signature SHOULD also work in Windows, yes/no?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have signed all of my plugins with a production/distribution cert from my Apple Developer account. They all show as signed in both Mac OS and Windows - but in Windows it says, "The certificate in the signature cannot be verified" - which makes it look (or maybe in fact is) invalid.

I am new to the whole digital signing process but I THOUGHT Apple Certs were also supposed to work in Windows?

I signed all my Mac OS builds during compile via Xcode. All my Windows builds were signed after build using DigiCert. Is DigiCert the problem - or something else?
Last edited by Fender19 on Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

BTW - I’m using Pace to sign all my AAX plugins and that is where I read that Apple certs also apply on Windows - but maybe that’s only for Pace purposes?

Any insight here appreciated!

I use my Apple cert for Windows, but they recommend that you get a separate Windows cert. in the text upon signing.
The only problem I had was having to re-export the p12 file from the Mac, because the old one went out of date.
But that's all pretty obvious to be fair... :)

Pace wrapping doesn't care much about the certificate used for signing, in fact you can even sign your binaries with a self-signed certificate and it will work on ProTools.

I think Apple certificates are not valid on Windows because Apple is not a recognized certification authority for Microsoft, so you should get another certificate for Windows from DigiCert, Comodo/Sectigo, etc.
I'd suggest you an Extended Validation (EV) certificate which costs a bit more and requires more paper-work but it will immediately get rid of the SmartScreen alert when you launch the installer or standalone app.

quikquak wrote: Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:19 pm But that's all pretty obvious to be fair... :)