Need tool/equipment recommendations for analog modeling research

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I’ve been wanting to get into analog modeling research for quite sometime, and now I’m going to seriously get started. My background is in computer science with basic knowledge in electronics and DSP. Those are things I have to work on improving.

Now, for the equipment, I think I need to at least get a scope. Here’s one of the thing I’m not sure about. There’s a 4-channel 8-bit scope like Rigol DS1054Z, and then there’s a 2-channel 16-bit scope like PicoScope 4262. I’m not sure whether higher bit depth or more channels is more important. Some suggestions found online seems to state that I could use audio interface if higher vertical precision is required, but that will compromise on the frequency resolution. Any suggestions here?

Are there also other equipment/measurement tools I need to consider? I need a desktop variable power supply for use with circuit prototypes. I guess that’s one, but I’m sure there are many more things I should have.

Your suggestions are welcome. Thanks!
Peace, my friends. I'm not seeking arguments here. ;)

Scopes are useful for visual qualitative feedback, but for data measurement, I personally just use a DC-coupled audio interface and software and Python scripts on my laptop. Data acquisition is kind of useless without a signal generator to drive your circuit with transients, sine waves, sine sweeps, fixed voltages, etc. Other people use digital scopes and function generators. It all depends on what you're modeling.

A power supply is also necessary. Having 4 channels on this is a nice luxury, but you could get by with 2.
VCV Rack, the Eurorack simulator