Controlling Cubase mixer from a VST Plug in?

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,

is it possible to control Cubase mixer from a VST plug in?
I am new in the VST Developing environment and want to start with a simple Plugin to control the pan pot and the level of a send effect from a plug in. Any ideas where i can start.

Thanks in advance

Greetz Oliver

It's not possible with the standard plugin formats like VST. (You could maybe concoct some solution where the plugin sends MIDI messages that somehow end up back in the host application to control the mixer settings via the host's MIDI remote control facilities, if it happens to have any. Even that is not necessarily easy to do and might not work ideally.)

In the end, it's quite limited what the established plugin formats allow one to do beyond just processing audio that is fed into the plugin. (Or generating audio based on MIDI messages with instrument plugins.)

How did you come up with that particular idea? Have you seen any other 3rd party plugins that can do that in Cubase?

Hi,
i saw the X-Y controler in FL Studio. In a YT Video i saw that you can control the pan pot with the x-axis and the value of an send effect (reverb) with the y-axis. So it it is nice to position orchestral sound in the stereo field(l-r and depht). Maybe it is possible with a channel strip plug in.

Greetz

Each plug-in is sent straight stereo feeds from the channel, before any of the host panning. It should be straight forward to alter the audio, not forgetting the panning ‘laws’ of course. :) Plug-ins cannot control host behaviour, that would create a fine mess!
Last edited by quikquak on Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

DerItist wrote: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:12 am i saw the X-Y controler in FL Studio
Right, but FL Studio is not Cubase. And the XY controller in FL Studio is a built-in feature, right?

Hi,