Help with matched bandpass filter *Solved* (Ensuring center frequency is maximum)

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, so I decided to have a crack at a matched band pass filter. I'm basing it on the Biquad Fits and Mzti papers.

My math and dsp is self taught, so I have a hard time understanding how in the Biquad Fits paper they arrive at:

Code: Select all

1. Single zero at DC: b0 + b1 + b2 = 0.
2. Maximum at ω0:
d
dω |H(z)|
|ω=ω0 = 0.
3. Unity gain at ω0: |H(z)|
|ω=ω0 = 1
The first requirement yields B0 = 0. The second and third requirements
imply
B1 + 4(φ0 − φ1)B2 − A0 + A1 + 4(φ0 − φ1)A2 = B1φ1 + B2φ2 A0φ0 + A1φ1 + A2φ2 = 1. (
Specifically, how the second two requirements led to the equation.

Anyway, I figured to try something similar, because a problem with MZT is aliasing of the response, so that for band pass the peak value is off center.

I came up with the following:

1: find poles via MZT
2: add zero at DC
3: calculate gain squared at the center frequency and it's derivative there
4: Find an additional zero using a curve fit that sets the overall derivative of the system to zero at the center frequency
5: Combine the two zeros and adjust gain so center frequency is at unity

Here's the curve fit:

//sorry for lazy variable naming g = gain squared and d = derivative
(sqrt((g*g - d*d)*sinw*sinw - 2.0*d*g*sinw) + g*sinw - d*cosw) / d
which sets one of the coefficients. The other, for convenience, is 1.0 - overall gain is later compensated and I'm just interested in fixing the derivative at that point. If d ==0 then we avoid division by zero simply because the derivative is correct and we don't need the curve fit.

The problem is the sqrt() function. Everything works great, but once above 10 kHz the input to the sqrt() function quickly becomes massively negative (d outgrows g and due to the squaring the difference quickly becomes very large).