'Ideal' Mac system specs for Repro 5 / Diva etc.

Official support for: u-he.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all.

I'm running Repro 5 in Ableton on a 2015 MacBook Pro (3.1GHz dual-core i7). Performance is good, but only if I limit myself to a single instance of Repro per song.

I'm trying to get a feel for the performance improvement I'd see from upgrading to a machine with more cores.

Ideally I'd like to be able to run two or three polyphonic instances of Repro 5 simultaneously. Is this realistic (or even possible) with the latest iMacs / MacBook Pros?

For those of you with newer Macs than mine, at what point does it all get too much for your CPU?

Have you activated multicore?

Calenberger wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:22 pm Have you activated multicore?
Yep.

Just to be clear, I'm not complaining about the performance I'm getting. I just want to know what it's like to use these plugins on a more modern machine with way more cores than 2.

I have no experience with i7 dual cores, but I'd strongly recommend 4 or more cores. By far the majority of CPU issues with Diva were reported on dual cores, where the multicore support simply doesn't work that great.

That said, recent 6-core Mac minis and MBPs outperform my 2013 Mac "Dustbin" Pro with the same number of cores. It's crazy what you get these days compared to what it was 4 or 5 years ago.

Also, I'm using Inception-style techniques ("dreams") to convince my company to buy me a new Mac Pro with 16 cores once it's available... to me that seems to be the ultimate machine for running native plug-ins (very fast cores, and enough of them. The configurations with more cores have slower clock rates).

Thank you Urs. I'm going to start saving for a machine with more cores. :)