Decay time can't be modulated in Zebra?

Official support for: u-he.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Yesterday I got Zebra and Hive and while Hive works as expected with regard to the subject of this topic, Zebra does not.

In Dune 2, I have a habit of modulating the decay time for the filter envelope with a dedicated MSEG (in order for it to be tighter/punchier) and in Hive I can also modulate the decay time on MOD1 with Func1/2 or MOD1/2 (no problem; I get the desired result).

In Zebra I can't - for some reason. I set it up in the mod matrix, but there is just no effect (mod source is MSEG or one of the other envelopes, but regardless, there is no effect).

Am I missing something or .... what (I'm quite familiar with Zebra, but I've never tried modulating the decay time before TBH, so this is a surprise)? :? :scared:

Yeah, Zebra stems from a time where CPU was an extremely valuable currency. To save cost, the rate/duration of any envelope stage is only calculated once, when the respective stage starts. So you can actually modulate it, but the modulation only takes effect in the moment the stage begins. That is, you can't self-modulate stages.

That's why there's a variable slope option, which gives you quite a bit of control over either snappy or punchy sounding envelopes.

Urs wrote: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:44 pm Yeah, Zebra stems from a time where CPU was an extremely valuable currency. To save cost, the rate/duration of any envelope stage is only calculated once, when the respective stage starts. So you can actually modulate it, but the modulation only takes effect in the moment the stage begins. That is, you can't self-modulate stages.

That's why there's a variable slope option, which gives you quite a bit of control over either snappy or punchy sounding envelopes.
I guess it's a bit idiosyncratic now, although it was perfectly understandable back in the day, but that's ok. :)

Will it be updated/fixed in Zebra 3?