Guitar amp for home recording

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So, hoping to record electric guitar via an amp, but at home, without (generally speaking) the ability to go really loud.

Is there such a beast as a tube amp in particular (I prefer them), that can do nice clean and excellent drive . . . all at low to medium dB?

I realise that could be unlikely, great tube drive at low volume, but hey, this is why I’m asking - it might be possible?

TIA

As an alternative you could get the amp you really want and use an isolation cabinet;

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isolation ... t_(guitar)

I'm no expert in this, but I know some people on here use them and indeed seem to recall have built their own... :scared:

Or use a Koch Loadbox (or simular) instead of a cabinet. It's like a DI at the speaker end of the chain.
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

I have a Laney Ironheart Studio which I find really well thought out unit.
There is a 1W input too - and even having no speaker on, doing phones, it default to 1W and have internal load(resistor).

But I use it in normal 15W and loadboxes like mentioned above.

Ironheart is 3 channel, clean, normal lead - and a boost feature also on pedal board, with amount setting how much you want to boost.
Clean + normal share eq section - lead have separate eq section.
Normal and Lead has separate gain+master knobs.

Ironheart can do clean to high gain as you please.

Want more like Marshall - Marshall Origin 20 is also really good and modern. Three wattage selections. This is rather clean in itself to get that raw clean Marshall and still do gain to distort. If you want more like hi gain DSL series is good too, pretty much the same as Origin otherwise.