Help with custom script for transposing MIDI polyAT

Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone, this is my first post here!

I am a programmer but I haven't written Bitwig scripts before, so I am looking for some pointers.
Recently, I acquired a Roland A-80 with firmware version EPROM 1.02, which has a bug.
I think I can make a workaround with a Bitwig script, but I don't understand how to manipulate MIDI.

The A-80 is blessed with polyphonic aftertouch, making it a wonderful master keyboard.
However, my specimen has a bug where the polyAT message is 3 octaves higher than the corresponding note (I verified this with MIDI Monitor).
Hopefully, it is possible to edit the Bitwig Generic MIDI Keyboard script with some lines that transpose these messages down 3 octaves again.
This way, my A-80 will always behave as intended whenever I use Bitwig.

I am guessing I need setMidiCallback() on a function which recognises and manipulates a polyAT message.
Can anyone show me how to do something like that?

Normally PolyAT data goes into the "Note Lane" as opposed to the "Controller Lane".
The Note Lane is very fast, but doesn't allow much manipulation (it does allow transposing, but only for everything, not only for specific messages AFAIK).
But since PolyAT isn't as time critical, you should be able to do what you want if you first remove the PolyAT from the Note lane by filtering it with the Bitmask when you create your Note Input in the init function. This would let go everything through:

Code: Select all

keys = midiIn.createNoteInput("Keys", "??????");
The question mark acts as a "joker" here. But you can be much more specific:

PadNotes = host.getMidiInPort(0).createNoteInput("MPD226 Pads", "8?????", "9?????", "D?????","E?????", "A?????");
(I pick examples from different scripts, therefore the different ways to access the Midi Ports)