Customized firmware available (for experimenters)

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I recently picked up a used Linnstrument 128. I'm a keys player, and this looked like it would be a fun MIDI controller that could add some variety to my playing style. So far, I'm really enjoying it!

As a software developer who's played around with Arduino in the past, I was pleased to discover that the Linnstrument firmware is open source. The source code is well organized and approachable, so I started playing around with making some modifications that I thought might be helpful. For me, these changes have improved my ability to play the instrument with some synths, and maybe others would find these changes useful, too.

Here's a quick overview of my changes:
  • Improve how Loudness/Z expression (pressure) interacts with note attack and release
  • Improve playability for beginners, by making the instrument more forgiving for Timbre/Y and Loudness/Z
  • Improve visual feedback of Y and Z using the played-note animations
You can download the release here (source code and compiled binary): https://github.com/nathankopp/linnstrum ... e/releases
Detailed description of changes: https://github.com/nathankopp/linnstrum ... mware/wiki

I invite others in the community (who appreciate experimentation) to give it a try to see if maybe these changes would be useful for other Linnstrument players. TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK. Be aware that installing this firmware, even if you follow the proper instructions, might erase your settings and/or sequencer projects! If, after upgrading, you see horizontal lines on your Linnstrument, that means that settings have been erased and you'll need to follow the calibration instructions found on this page. (I've had this happen to me multiple times while uploading custom firmware to the Linnstrument.)

To update the firmware, you need to get the official installer here: http://www.rogerlinndesign.com/ls-updat ... tware.html