Considering a Linnstrument

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello,

I've been playing an Ableton Push(v2) for about 3 years.
My primary motivation for the purchase was the isomorphic note layout.
I had considered a Linnstrument before hand, but as an Ableton user,
the added Live functionality on the Push was something I couldn't overlook.

It's great and has definitely transformed my writing process and workflow,
but I am now in the market for something that is geared towards performance.

I strictly play in chromatic mode. A big issue for me with the push is the note center spacing is widened to accommodate various usages (I'd assume pad drumming the main culprit). Playing chords in certain positions just isn't ergonomic for me, and the 8x8 grid makes progressions a mixed vertical and horizontal affair. While good common tone voice leading generally calls for limited movement, I still want the ability to produce root movement in an intuitive horizontal manner (similar to a piano) while preserving access to vertical 3nps/4nps style guitar scales from any root.

Although there is some redundancy in the note values, I am under the impression that the 200 pad Linnstrument would afford the flexibility I'm after (MPE being the icing on the cake).

I live in Montreal QC, and I've yet to find a retailer that carries a demo.
I looked into technosynths but couldn't find any contact info, and I'm not even sure
they have a brick and mortar outlet.

Anybody having experience with both controllers, your comparisons would be of great value to me, and I would definitely appreciate it.

As a side, Roger if you read this, I just want to say I'm thankful for your innovations with respect to music technology. I don't think we would be where we are if you hadn't had the drive to bring all of these products to market. You're truly a pioneer and you have routinely extended that opportunity to the musicians of the world. :clap: : :tu:

Hi letribs,