Ideas for Labeling/Identifying Notes?

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi,
I've been playing the Linnstrument for a few months now and am still struggling to find the notes visually on it. I think it would be very helpful to have the notes or a subset of them labeled. Something like this Sensel Morph surface/overlay that mimics the Linnstrument layout would be of interest: https://forum.sensel.com/t/12x6-linnstr ... rid/639/19. Has anyone come up with such a thing for the Linnstrument?
Also, has anyone tried the overlay linked here: http://www.rogerlinndesign.com/assets/l ... sharps.pdf ? If so, how did you print/apply it? Any other ideas for creating stickers with labels or landmarks beyond the single bump on the C note? Any lighting schemes that helped make things click for you? Appreciate any tips you more experienced players can pass on.
- Mudbone

My best advice is to not use an overlay. It's a crutch. It may provide some instant gratification, but it will ultimately hold you back in the long run.

If you want to develop proficiency and really learn the playing surface, my suggestion is to light up only the C notes, then memorize the proximity of all the other notes in relation to C: i.e. D is always two squares to the right, G is always directly below, F is always directly above, etc. Do this for every note, one at a time, working within a single octave at first, until you start to see these relationships without having to think about them; then branch out in each direction slowly, in manageable increments, until the entire geography of the playing surface makes sense to you. It's the only way forward. If you use an overlay, when you eventually take it away, you will surely be lost just the same.

The good news is, the LinnStrument's layout is isomorphic, so you only have to learn these relative positions and shapes once, and from there, simply transpose them as you would on, say, a guitar.