Upgrade from 1.x to 3.x

Official support for: bitwig.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys,

I'm a beginner (hobby) producer and already have a license of Bitwig 1.x purchased about 4 years ago. I believe the software is still serving me well and I never (and probably won't for a long time) hit any walls with the things I'm trying to do.

That said I'm wondering if Bitwig 3 is for me and if there are (and what are) under the hood benefits to upgrading from 1.x to 3.x. Did the whole thing get more stable, is the audio engine noticeably better, faster, stronger?

I was quite bummed that with all the updates the controller scripts didn't get any love... even my Arturia Keystep doesn't have any specific support even while being one of the most popular MIDI controllers out there.

As for instruments I'm happy to use the stock Polysynth, Drum Machine, Reverb, Echo and a couple of external VSTs for piano, bass and the Moog Minitaur's own. Maybe if the Sampler was really another level I could see that as a reason to upgrade...

My hardware setup is simple: I have a Arturia Keystep + Moog Minitaur and a Novation Circuit. Maybe at some point I might add a Launchpad to my setup just because I love working with clips and scenes.

Easy: Download the free demo, make a track, see if you like the new features. If you like them buy it, if you don't need them stay on Bitwig 1.

Yeah I did that and in fact I think it messed up my presets (had to reinstall the 1.x version)... but from my point of view nothing I can "see" or "feel" is worth the upgrade, which is why I was referencing the under the hood stuff... but maybe I'm missing something obvious that was added in version 2 or 3 and that it changed the game for you?

On the other hand I did try to also move to Abelton 10 but I just can't bring myself to use it: I find the interface confusing, although I think I could probably get used to it. I just love how everything just works with Abelton.