Experiments with improvising and performing techno/dance music - ideas welcomed

Official support for: bitwig.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Disclaimer - I'm using "techno" as a catch-all word for repetitive beat-oriented electronic music. I'm not a genre expert!

I've been playing around with some ideas for getting away from the keyboard and mouse and giving myself new ways to come up with ideas/loops/inspiration but also try to be able to improvise and perform using only my MIDI controller (APC40 Mk2) and not have to touch my laptop/keyboard/mouse - or at least as little as possible.

Years ago there were tutorials about grouping multiple Ableton samplers in order load in a bunch of different drum hits so that you could easily cycle through them with a controller knob. This is also very easy in Bitwig's sampler using multi-samples or by nesting multiple sampler device in a container. I then realised that you can use the same group/select idea with note devices like arpeggiators. In this way, you can use the arpeggiators much like a step sequencer so you can create a "bank" of drum patterns that you can easily cycle through, with the added flexibility of shifting the length of the pattern to get different mismatched pattern lengths and poly-metric behaviour (I apologise if I'm using the wrong terminology). You can use as many arpeggiators as you like in a note FX selector and you can embed these within a drum machine so you can have a single device/preset that is basically a self-contained drum groovebox that just needs a single MIDI clip with a 1/2/4 bar clip with long notes that "play" the arpeggiators.